Tuesday, July 23, 2024

DOT Discloses PH Destinations To Receive Tourism Fund


DOT Discloses PH Destinations To Receive Tourism Fund


How do you feel about this story?


The Department of Tourism (DOT) has identified the 15 local government units (LGUs) that will get a combined tourism funding worth PHP180 million under its new Tourism Champions Challenge (TCC) initiative.

In a statement Tuesday, the DOT said the 15 were shortlisted from 90 LGUs that submitted a total of 98 proposals from across Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

The proposals underwent a rigorous evaluation process, with its “knowledge partner” PricewaterhouseCoopers Philippines (PWC) providing expert insight.

The first placer will receive PHP20 million worth of tourism projects, the second placer will get PHP15 million, PHP10 million for the third placer, PHP8 million and PHP7 million, for the fourth and fifth placer, respectively, for a total of PHP180 million.

The proposals will be officially awarded upon approval of the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority (TIEZA) Board, through an official signing of a memorandum of agreement (MOA) between the LGUs, DOT and the TIEZA, for the facilitation of the project inauguration.

The TCC is a nationwide campaign to incentivize tourism development among cities and municipalities.

The program was launched earlier this year to help winning LGUs develop and manage tourism projects by providing funds to their project proposals, which the DOT hopes will pave the way for the Philippines’ goal of becoming a tourism powerhouse in Asia.

Tourism Secretary Christina Frasco, who formerly served as Liloan, Cebu mayor, underscored the need for strengthened tourism governance between and among the national government and the LGUs.

“President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. early on in his administration has expressed his belief in the tourism industry’s ability to become one of the country’s major economic pillars post-pandemic,” she said.

“As we pursue our plans and programs under the NTDP (National Tourism Development Plan), the DOT commits to continuing a whole-of-nation approach to tourism, with optimism that the genuine love that all of us have for the Philippines can spur a unified approach towards tourism governance,” she added.

The winners are:


– Ambaguio, Nueva Vizcaya
– Bolinao, Pangasinan
– Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro
– San Jose, Romblon
– Socorro, Oriental Mindoro


– Badian, Cebu
– Panay, Capiz
– Silago, Southern Leyte
– Tubigon, Bohol
– Victorias City, Negros Occidental


– Davao City, Davao del Sur
– Isabela City, Basilan
– Island Garden City of Samal, Davao del Norte
– San Agustin, Surigao del Sur
– Tagum City, Davao del Norte

From the identified 15 LGUs, the proposals will be ranked according to relevance and potential contribution to the tourism industry. (PNA)